OES Electronic Newsletter Volume 5, Number 7

Request for Nominations for the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society Distinguished Technical Achievement Award for 2008

The IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society is seeking nominations from the Oceanic Engineering Society membership for the Oceanic Engineering Society Distinguished Technical Achievement Award for 2008.

The Distinguished Technical Achievement Award is presented to a member of the profession whose technical achievements in oceanic engineering are recognized by their peers. This award is the Oceanic Engineering Society's way of affording acknowledgement to the technical accomplishments of individuals who have produced and furthered the reputation for technical excellence currently enjoyed by the society.

The last five Distinguished Technical Achievement Award recipients are: 2003 Georges Bienvenu 2004 John P. Craven 2005 Douglas C. Webb 2006 Fred N. Spiess 2007 Donald E. Barrick

The Nominations Packet(s) for the Distinguished Technical Achievement Award should include a Letter of Nomination accompanied by a one page vita of the candidate and two letters of recommendation.

Nominations will be accepted through 14 March 2008. Please submit nominations to the undersigned.

Thomas Freud Wiener, Sc.D., LSMIEEE Chair, IEEE/OES Awards Committee 2403 Lisbon Lane Alexandria VA 22306 USA +1 703 768 9533 t.wiener@ieee.org

For information on other OES activities, go to http://www.oceanicengineering.org

Send comments regarding this newsletter to the editor, Dr. Diane DiMassa, ddimassa@ieee.org