OES Electronic Newsletter Volume 6, Number 15

OES Awards and Officers

Awards: Christian de Moustier is the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society Distinguished Service Award recipient for 2009 and Robert T. Bannon is the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society Distinguished Technical Achievement Award recipient for 2009. Both Christian and Bob have long records of dedication to the Society and were honored at our Annual Awards Luncheon at OCEANS' 09 in Biloxi.

New officers of the Society: Elected at our ADCOM meeting in Biloxi are: Elizabeth Creed, VP Professional Activities; Robert Wernli, VP Conference Development; Diane DiMassa, Treasurer and William Carey, Journal Editor Elect. Christian de Moustier will continue as Editor through 2010 with Bill taking over in 2011. Congratulations to these new officers and special thanks to Joseph Vadus and to James Collins for their service as they retire from their VP positions at the end of the year.

OCEANS' 09 MTS/IEEE Biloxi was a great success with over 1500 in attendance and with several new activities for students and teachers. Once again the Gulf Coast people were very gracious hosts and the Local Organizing Committee did a superb job with an excellent technical program and social events.

For information on other OES activities, go to http://www.oceanicengineering.org

Send comments regarding this newsletter to the editor: Marinna Martini, mmartini@ieee.org